Need help finding the right tutor?

Why are you seeking tutoring?
Are you a parent or a student?
When do you want to start?
How often would you like to meet with a tutor?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Brittany tutors in Reston, VA

Brittany H.

Private tutor in Reston, VA

5Brittany H.

13 reviews

Education

University of Virginia - BS, Chemistry and Environmental Science

Experience

I graduated high school with an International Baccalaureate diploma, and throughout my high school career I studied history, chemistry, math, and English at advanced levels. Currently, I'm a student at the University of Virginia, where I study environmental science and chemistry.I encourage the students that I tutor to think critically, because I feel that it's an important part of mastering the subject being studied. However, I understand that everyone learns at a different pace and has to overcome different obstacles, so I typically begin tutoring new students by asking a series of questions to gauge their knowledge of the subject and clearing up any misconceptions that students have regarding the topic being studied. I tutor several different subjects, including arithmetic, math, middle school math, pre-algebra, algebra, precalculus, calculus, geometry, and trigonometry. I also tutor students in chemistry, honors chemistry, environmental science, ecology, and science, as well as tutor International Baccalaureate students in IB Chemistry HL, IB Chemistry SL, IB Environmental Systems and Societies SL, IB Mathematical Studies SL, IB Mathematics HL, and IB Mathematics SL. Additionally, I'm available to help students with SAT prep.When I have free time, I enjoy reading, especially fantasy and science fiction novels. I also like sports. While I was in high school, I played soccer, volleyball, and basketball, and I play quidditch at the University of Virginia. 

Availability

Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

5 miles at my regular hourly rate

Hobbies

Sports, reading

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor

Thanks!

Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!